disneyland 07 117 (3)Did some say vacation adventure?

The thought of an adventure, I’m sure, brings pleasant thoughts to mind. Visions of the Hawaiian Islands or the peaks of Yosemite probably race through your memories, but vacations and adventures can be chaotic too. Vacations take us out of our routines and place us in unusual places filled with unpredictable activities. And most people like their predictable routines.

Add to that, how some people like to chill out on vacation and sit beside a pool. That’s the definition of boring for me. Like kids, I want to go, go, go! My wife recently told me about a family she knew who had gone on vacation to a foreign country. The family had a lousy time. They spent lots of money, stayed in fine hotels, and had it all planned out, but they couldn’t wait to get home. I’ve been on trips like that too. You tend to hear phrases like, “Let’s make the best of this.”

disneyland 07 084 (2)Once I went to Florida in August. 100 degrees and 100 percent humidity. Disney World in August is not the happiest place on earth. We were running from indoor show to indoor show to shops to restaurants. The experience makes a great story now. At the same time, I don’t know one person who would turn down a free family vacation. disneyland 07 190 (2)

Vacations and adventures are like that. Unpredictable. Some people thrive on the unpredictable, but most of us like our routines. Which type are you?