There comes a time in every blogger’s career when you have to refocus, double down, and change. That’s right, there’s that word again, CHANGE! Most people don’t like change, but I’m going to embrace it for now. As a children’s writer and blogger, I’ve always struggled to reach my audience so I must turn and head in a slightly different direction.

My central problem is that I write children’s books, but kids do not read my blog. My blog is written for writers really. A Writer’s Diary is a resource for writers. I like the focus as I have used it as a sort of diary, but I’ve found that I need to re-target new readers and to do that I must target their parents. Parents are really the ones that will buy my books for their children.

Help me out here if you have any input about reaching readers who are children on the internet.

The way I see it, I need to do a few things.

1. Appeal to parents on an educational topic like writing.

2. Appeal to children with contests and writing challenges of various kinds.

3. Start a writing contest.

4. Create an app for children to play on my website.

5. Redesign my website.

Ding! Ding! Ding! Chime in if you have any good ideas on this topic.