Writing fiction or nonfiction is not for the faint hearted. It takes discipline, determination, a lot of time, good ideas, and of course–talent.

Like many writers, I have a hard time finishing writing projects. When I say writing project, you know that statement can be relative. Truth be told, I have a lot of irons in the fire as most writers do. I have a middle grade novella done that is resting, an early reader chapter book finished and waiting on pictures, and many other writing projects surging through my consciousness. But the current project has taken longer to get started than I anticipated. I usually get stuck on one aspect of the story and this manuscript is no exception, but my persistent gene will not let me down. Pushing aside the subtlety, I’m still working on what the character wants. In the draft I’m writing, the main character loves adventures because of a prize at the end.

In the first book called Dot and Scribble Fall into Adventure, the prize was the key to adventure. In the second book, the setting is outer space and more specifically a planet. The adventures will be grand, but what will the prize be? This may seem like a small issue to many, but it’s a central feature of all books whether the goal involves that character changing, solving a mystery, or finding hidden treasure.

How can I crack this code and finish the puzzle? If you sent two characters to a planet to help defeat a monster, what would be the prize? Perhaps, glory. Possibly a magic lamp or a sacred stone. What would enthuse an audience of children? Let me know your thoughts.