I’m pretty excited about some upcoming speaking engagements. And yes, I’m a bit nervous. This will be the second opportunity that I’ve had to chat with kids about writing and about my book Stink Bomb. My first speaking engagement was an assembly in January at a local school. This opportunity will take place in one week on March 3rd on Read Across America Day.

Reflecting on the first assembly, it is clear that kids like to be entertained, but that they enjoy asking questions more. If I learned anything, it was that kids love to ask questions about writing. For the first assembly, my partner and I talked about the challenges of writing, played a game, promoted our books, and ended with questions. We didn’t anticipate so many questions and such good ones. So for the upcoming talk, I’m going to focus on Q&A a bit more.

No time to waste….I better start prepping.