It’s the countdown till Christmas. In this last few weeks, it’s hard to find time to do anything but work, get errands done, and go to Christmas parties. It has been too busy. I am excited about the break I have coming up. I have decided to finish up a book I have put off for months. I promised myself I would find time to finish this project up. Alas, even as I’m writing this post, I’m thinking about all the tasks I have yet to accomplish.

Stop. Write it down. Leave it for later.

This is a common problem with writers. I hear it all the time. I don’t have time to write. I’m going to get to that project later. How do you make time during the busy seasons of life to work on your writing? Here are a few tips I use when I am feeling distracted.

Take advantage of the small moments. If you work a full-time job and have any kind of life, sometimes small moments are all you’re going to get out of a day. I tend to rehearse my stories while I’m walking. That’s a small moment. Bring your i-Pad and work on a story while your waiting in the doctor’s office or for your child.

Make writing your number one priority. Step away from the distractions like TV and stay off social media outlets. When you write, make that your priority.

Don’t leave the house without a way to record your ideas. I use my i-Phone or i-Pad all the time to add reminders or plot twists to my stories.