Injecting Humor 🙂

Okay, so I can get a bit serious when I’m writing. I think we all take our work seriously and that usually translates to serious characters, a serious and intense storyline, and well….the lack of humor. At least for me. I actually have to remember that children — above all activities — love to laugh. And the topics they find hilarious are not the same for me. Kids might find a stupid pun or potty talk or a character doing something out of character to be hilarious.

Laughter is medicine for the soul. I’ve heard people say that people who laugh live longer. I can take a hint. Really. The problem is that I do not naturally tell jokes or find the humor in situations. I have to tell myself to lighten up and laugh.

Time to inject some humor.

In the story that I’m currently writing Sucked into Cyberspace sounds funny and it is, but the story-line and the villain and the whole virtual reality angle of the story have become eyebrow-clinching serious. I literally need the happy face ball to bounce through my story in a few chapters.

Ready, set, internet….cause I cannot think of jokes on my own…..I can but I need a little jump-start.

James Bond: Do you expect me to talk?
Goldfinger: No Mister Bond, I expect you to die!

Moohahaha!

Here are some ideas:

“Retribution is just a fancy way of saying ‘no tag-backs’.” – The King of All Cosmos

ANYTHING having to do with butts is hilarious to kids.

The kids accidentally set the villain’s trousers or clothes on fire (usually around the butt area) and after some frantic slapstick attempts to put it out, the villain jumps into a nearby body of water with an audible hiss of steam.

Moving on….Dr. Evil….

Scott: If you’ve got a time machine, why don’t you just go back and kill Austin Powers when he’s sitting on the crapper or something?
Dr. Evil: How about, no, Scott? Okay?

Dr. Evil: [deep voice] Austin, I’m your father.
Austin: Really?
Dr. Evil: No, not really. I can’t back that up.
Austin: Right. Idiot, yes

Dr. Evil: Mini-me, you complete me.
Dr. Evil: Hang on Mini-Me! If anything should happen to you I don’t know what I would do.
[pauses]
Dr. Evil: I’d probably move on, get another replica but there would be a 10 minute period there where I would just be inconsolable.
Dr. Evil: [about his new “laser”] You see, I’ve turned the moon into what I like to call a “Death Star“.
[Scott snickers]
Dr. Evil: What?
Scott: Oh, nothing, Darth.
Dr. Evil: What did you call me?
Scott: Nothing.
Scott: [pretends to sneeze] Ripoff.
Dr. Evil: Bless you.