Ben Franklin wrote in the bathtub, Jane Austen amid the bustle of family life, Marcel Proust in his bed. Balzac, the French novelist and playwright, ate an enormous meal at five in the evening, slept till midnight, then got up and wrote at a small desk in his room for sixteen hours straight, fueled by endless cups of coffee.

I tried that once, but realized I needed a more moderate approach after reading my work the next day.
Conrad Aiken worked at a refectory table in the dining room; Robert Graves wrote in a room furnished only with objects made by hand. Katherine Anne Porter said she got her writing done in the country, where she lived like a hermit. Toni Morrison found refuge in a motel room when her children were small; E. B. White sought those great one liners in a cabin on the shore. Due to her problem back, Penelope Lively works in an armchair, with an electronic typewriter on her lap, while A. L. Kennedy finds comfort in a black chair in a room the color of blood. What dedication!

But wait, the habits get more bizarre yet. Ernest Hemingway wrote standing up; D. H. Lawrence under a tree. William Maxwell preferred small messy rooms that don’t look out on anything interesting.
I prefer a simple computer, comfortable chair, and a quiet room. Some times I go to my bedroom and work on my iPad. I find that changing the atmosphere daily helps me stay fresh and engaged.
I never get anything productive done after 9:30 pm, but I almost always work until 10 pm when working on a draft.
Walking always helps clear my head and work out plotting problems.
When I need a great idea, plot twist, or character name, I ask my wife. She gives good tips even though she doesn’t know a noun from a pronoun.

Do you have a favorite writing place or unusual habit when you journal or write?
Oh please share.