At last, I have entered the flow. I finally finished a draft of a new story.

Flow is the mental state of operation in which a person performing an activity is fully immersed in a feeling of energized focus, full involvement, and enjoyment in the process of the activity. In essence, flow is characterized by complete absorption in what one does.

The hallmark of flow is a feeling of spontaneous joy, even rapture, while performing a task.

That’s what I feel when I’m writing a chapter and all the story elements come together. The characters move the story forward. The chapters seem to come to a natural conclusion. There is the right amount of conflict. Dialogue doesn’t seem contrived. Flow….

Don’t get me wrong, I have a bunch of rewriting to do, but the essence of my story is complete.

Have you ever experienced this phenomenon in life or in writing?