The unread story is not a story; it is little black marks on wood pulp. The reader, reading it, makes it live: a live thing, a story.
– Ursula K. Le Guin

Again I am pondering why I love writing. I decided to consider what a few great authors had to say about words and writing. From the poet to the children’s author to science fiction writers, we writers have a certain way of looking at the written word. In some ways, writing is a love affair with words. Words are alive after all. We read a book and we feel a range of emotions. Whether we are reading novels, a dictionary, the Bible, or a sacred text–words fill us with inspiration, hope, fear, dread. The written word also helps us to focus our minds. A good novel can confuse us at the beginning with a mystery, but then reel us back in with a discovery.

Certainly, a writer can catch a reader’s imagination or push a reluctant person to consider a new concept or idea about a far off world. Words are alive for the reader, but only if they read.

I have not had the opportunity to have much of my work read by a wide audience. I have self published a book and am in the process of getting another 3rd grade level book published. My book, Stink Bomb, is about to be published, marketed, bought and sold. My hope is that my work will be shared with a wide audience so that I can impart some meaning into people’s lives. Then, it will be a live thing– a story.

A word is dead
When it is said,
Some say.
I say it just begins
to live that day.
Emily Dickinson

Words are a lens to focus one’s mind.
Ayn Rand

It is the writer who might catch the imagination of young people, and plant a seed that will flower and come to fruition.
Isaac Asimov

The unread story is not a story; it is little black marks on wood pulp. The reader, reading it, makes it live: a live thing, a story.
Ursula K. Le Guin