Why do I write? Of course there are typical answers. I enjoy crafting a story. “Writing is a hobby” I have heard myself saying. Making money is surely not the reason. Most writers do not make a great living. And then there is that urge to finish a project that I’ve started. When a great story character grabs me and won’t let go, the urge to follow that imaginary person to the end of the tale hits me hard. There is that reason.

Yet another reason is to connect emotionally with an audience. In my case, I have not truly made this connection. Although getting published is an elusive accomplishment that many writers fail to earn, we all long to know if our work will stand up to our critics, the reader. Will our story be believable? Will readers want to keep reading? This is at the heart of the urge to write.