This blog has great articles on writing fiction.

Thea Atkinson

Last post on villains was so successful, gaining lots of attention and folks letting me know how much they enjoyed it, that when Deb Nam-Krane offered to do another, I said, “Absolutely.” No lie. So welcome her with  her own take on writing villains; I promise you, it’s good. Leave her tons of commentary to chew over.

SmartestGirlFinalBuilding a better villain

by Deb Nam-Krane

What is a villain? Various dictionaries give different answers: a deliberate criminal or scoundrel; one blamed for a particular evil or difficulty; a character in a story who opposes a hero. My favorite comes from, of all places, Google: a person guilty or capable of a crime or wickedness. Because, when pushed far enough, I think most of the characters I write for are. Depending on how we define “wicked”, Emily, the main character of my book The Smartest Girl in the Room might be accused…

View original post 805 more words