First, find out what your hero wants, then just follow him!- Ray Bradbury

Any man who keeps working is not a failure. He may not be a great writer, but if he applies the old-fashioned virtues of hard, constant labor, he’ll eventually make some kind of career for himself as writer.- Ray Bradbury

These quotes really speak to me. We often talk of inspiration as writers, but it is easy to forget that writing is hard work. Ray Bradbury knew this well.

Ray Douglas Bradbury (August 22, 1920 – June 5, 2012) was an American fantasy, science fiction, horror and mystery fiction writer. Best known for his dystopian novel Fahrenheit 451 (1953) and for the science fiction and horror stories gathered together as The Martian Chronicles (1950) and The Illustrated Man (1951), Bradbury was one of the most celebrated 20th-century American writers. Many of Bradbury’s works have been adapted into comic books, television shows and films.

After a story is conceived and a first draft is written, the work begins. Although my book Stink Bomb is only 17,572 it has been a challenge to hone every chapter and sentence to make the book click. I do no think of myself as a great writer, but I am persistent. I actually was telling my wife this the other day. It is this quality of hard, constant labor that will hopefully take me to some type of career in children’s fiction.