For the last few years, I have set a personal goal to get my work published. My dream has almost become a reality, and I want to tell you that all the hard work is worth it. In celebration, I thought it would be fitting to do a series on famous sayings involving work. When I read a wise saying, I am struck first with the word choice. Like an artist, the author of the saying paints the inner turmoil and resulting life experience with fanciful words that truly make me look inward. Wise sayings are born out of great struggle at times. Some sayings are the result of bad choices and some come from one profound, life changing moment in time. Take the journey with me as we examine wise sayings.

Let’s take a journey to Neverland for our first saying.

“Nothing is really work unless you would rather be doing something else.”

James M. Barrie (1860-1937)

Novelist, Dramatist

J.M. Barrie was a Scottish dramatist, best known for writing about Peter Pan (1904), or The Boy Who Would Never Grow Up. The son of Scottish weavers, he moved to London to pursue his interest in becoming a playwright. It was there where he met the Llewelyn Davies boys who inspired his masterpiece.

The famous character of Peter Pan first appeared in the 1902 book The Little White Bird. Two years later, his play Peter Pan premiered on the London stage and became a great success. Audiences were drawn in the fantastical tale of the flying boy who never grew up and his adventures in Neverland with the Darling children. Barrie also wrote a book based on the play called Peter and Wendy, which was published in 1911. The book earned raves from critics.

“Nothing is really work unless you would rather be doing something else.”

I love Barrie’s sentiment. In other words, if you are doing what you love, it’s fun. Writing does take discipline like any other profession or hobby. I think Barrie was speaking collectively for all people when he shared this saying. For me personally, writing is something that I do weekly. It has taken me years to get the book deal that I have now for Stink Bomb and there is still plenty of hard work ahead, but the prize is within my reach. I can truly say that I have never been so stretched in my writing craft as I have in the rewriting of this book. Even when I wanted to give up, I reminded myself of my love for writing fiction and how far I’d come. That was when the breakthrough came.