Here’s a great tip for editing individual chapters. I like to remember that books are actually scenes. With this in mind, approach each chapter as if it should stand alone. I did this with Ricky Robinson Braveheart and it works great!

Mix up the chapters and edit them individually. Take out individual chapters at random and edit them without the benefit of the preceding or following chapters. This helps you focus on the actual writing. You can also pull random pages and edit them out of order. This gives you a bit of a break from the story, so you can focus on technical issues.

I have found that when re-edit books, on the second pass or third passes I begin to skip words and sections subconsciously. It is a strange phenomenon, I know. I even miss obvious errors. That is why this technique helps me change it up and refocus.