Where do you write? This may seem like a strange question, but I have been pondering it lately. Whether we are posting about life on Facebook, tweeting, composing a paper, sending an e-mail or text, or writing a story — we all write.

So where do you write?

Unfortunately, I have a corner. Literally, my computer is set up in a corner and this is where I write for my blog. I also write stories in the same place.

Capote would supposedly write supine, with a glass of sherry in one hand and a pencil in another. In a 1957 Paris Review interview with Pati Hill, Capote explains: “I am a completely horizontal author. I can’t think unless I’m lying down, either in bed or stretched on a couch and with a cigarette and coffee handy. I’ve got to be puffing and sipping. As the afternoon wears on, I shift from coffee to mint tea to sherry to martinis. No, I don’t use a typewriter. Not in the beginning. I write my first version in longhand (pencil). Then I do a complete revision, also in longhand.”

This is not what I have in mind for a writing studio.

Picture if you will a writing studio overlooking the beach. Perhaps a room with a view out to the forest.

What about you? Where do you write?