Time to participate readers.

Here are the rules. Share a favorite picture book. Give a short summary of the book and the fond memory you have from reading it.

Here is my choice.

Where the Wild Things Are is a 1963 children’s picture book by American writer and illustrator Maurice Sendak, originally published by Harper & Row.

A child called Max plays around his home making “mischief” in a wolf costume one evening. As punishment, his mother sends him to bed without supper. In his room, a mysterious, wild forest and sea grows out of his imagination, and Max sails to the land of the Wild Things. The Wild Things are fearsome-looking monsters, but Max proves to be the fiercest, conquering them.

I love this book because my mother read it to me again and again. I actually remember her sharing it with me when I was a lad. Good memories and a great book. Roar!