Publishing a book is a test of resolve — especially self publishing. Fortunately, I have a lot of determination.

I am in the midst of putting the final touches on a book called Ricky Robinson Braveheart. The book has been written for a while, but now I am racing toward self publishing on CreateSpace.

And I am on a huge learning curve.

The process is rigorous, but it has taught me a few meaningful lessons. One important lesson involves the difference between writing and publishing.

Writing has to do with creativity and discipline. Self publishing is more about formatting and details. My advice is to get a book that gives you all the possible answers to all the various questions concerning self-publishing. The book I bought is called How to Get Your Book Published Free in Minutes and Marketed Worldwide in Days by Gordon Burgett. Great material and a nice addition to your library.

Another lesson involves money. Everyone says “Free” but nothing is free.

Working on any project takes time. Time is money. Another cost is pictures. I’m a children’s author and that means pictures. Pictures cost money. A site that I used to get pictures for my book Ricky Robinson Braveheat was Fiverr. It’s not free, but it’s cheap because they hire authors, writers, technical people from other continents.