Originality: Above all, a good voice is unique and can’t be duplicated. It is also contagious. This is the hardest thing about starting off a novel. We have thousands of authors’ voices swimming around our heads and they are only too happy to take up residence in our current Work in Progress. We all have to find our voice, and one of the best ways to do that is to just write. You may need to keep writing until you find the voice.

I would have to say that I am still finding my voice. Reading other authors is important, but you can’t discover your own voice until you do the writing. I have learned this time and again. Although my books copy familiar plots and characters, the way I execute the words has to be distinctly me.

What have you found as a writer? Do you copy the style of other writers or just the genre?