The Quest Plot or The Hero’s Journey is when the protagonist searches for a person, place, or something tangible or intangible. The main character is basically in search of something they hope will change their life forever. Below are the 12 stages of the journey. I also found a video that does a great job of explaining this story type. At times, videos help me when I am tired of reading.

12 Stages of The Hero’s Journey:

  1. The Ordinary World
  2. The Call to Adventure
  3. The Refusal of the Call
  4. Meeting the Mentor
  5. Crossing the First Threshold
  6. Allies, Test, and Enemies
  7. Approaching the Inter-most Cave
  8. The Ordeal
  9. The Reward or (The Seizing of the Sword)
  10. The Road Back (To the Ordinary World)
  11. The Resurrection
  12. The Return with the Elixir