Branding is about communication. And an important aspect of communicating is an author’s platform. The phrase “author platform” has started to become more of a catchphrase in the publishing  world. Here’s how I understand it.

What is an author platform?

The author platform is how you are currently reaching an audience of book-buying people. It is your ability to sell to your market. At this point I don’t have a platform, but I’m working on it diligently.

All writers need to have their own platform. The way that seems easiest to me is joining up with an established author, publisher, or other credible media organization. This is unlikely to happen, so most people try to establish there own brand.

From Invisible to Visible
The word platform simply describes all the ways you are visible and appealing to your future actual readership. Platform development is important not only for authors; it’s also crucial for aspiring and soon-to-be authors. Your platform includes your Web presence, any public speaking you do, the classes you teach, the media contacts you’ve established, and the articles you’ve published. I am not even close in any of these areas. Long story short: Your platform communicates your expertise to others.

Now that I know what an author’s platform is, I can start with the construction.